mom-mode post #164 – on getting rid of the junk

November 20, 2011 § 1 Comment

A while back I came across two posts (read it here and here) that spoke directly into my borderline hoarders heart.
I grew up with a mom that cleaned out her closets every season, getting rid of anything she hadn’t worn in over a year. Although she had plenty of storage space, she lived by the rules that having less makes life uncomplicated.
In my adult life, I’ve carried her rules imprinted on my mind, but my heart has always been that of a pack-rat instead. As a kid I always kept a box with my treasures, my toy chest was always cluttered and I had a hard time getting rid of my favorite clothes that I had outgrown.
Because of my mom’s solid life advice, I’ve always been able to keep my pack-rat habits aflutter, but after our recent move, I knew I had to change.
You see, two years ago when we moved to Turkey, we came bringing five suitcases. Only five suitcases. Our move from Eskisehir to Bursa filled up an entire moving truck. And then some. That’s right, in two years that’s how much we accumulated.
Right before our move I did a lot of purging, but still kept a lot of unnecessary things around. Those “maybe someday” I’ll need things, that when the day actually comes for you to need it, you forget you had it, because it got lost underneath the clutter.
Our move forced us to downsize quite a bit. Eskisehir rental prices are a lot cheaper than Bursa so we lived in a rather spacious flat. Our new home is considerably smaller and is equipped with way less storage space. At first I’d thought my purge before the move had been enough, and all I needed was to think of smart ideas to deal with our storage issues. But after reading those two blog posts, it finally hit me. My mama was right all along. I need to consistently get rid of that of which I don’t use or need. Make it a habit. Moreover, I need to stop accumulating more stuff until I get rid of more stuff.
So to work I went. My biggest challenge is finding places here that will take donations. I finally found a charity that you can call and they will pick up your donations right at your doorstep. I have my pile ready to call them this week.

I realize however, that this is not just a one time thing. That it is a constant process of saying no to things I don’t need, getting of rid of the notion of “someday I might need it”, ripping off the band-aid. It is just stuff after all.

§ One Response to mom-mode post #164 – on getting rid of the junk

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading mom-mode post #164 – on getting rid of the junk at .

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

