mom-mode post #144 – on traveling to Rome with a toddler, part three

June 26, 2011 § 2 Comments

If you are traveling to Rome with a toddler, chances are you will need his auntie to go with you. (if you caught the ‘If you give mouse a cookie’ pattern, you deserve together yourself a cookie!) We were blessed to have the husband’s only sister come join us for this trip. She arrived early Saturday morning packed with a talking cat app ( a life saver during long waits at restaurants), lots of patience and lots of love. All of her great help were crucial for O’s great behavior during our journey through Rome.
That Saturday O woke us up a little early than usual, so we decided to make the most out of that early morning. The streets of Rome at dawn are empty and perfect fora little boy explorer. We let him roam, climb, run while I took all of that gorgeous architecture in and the husband took pictures. I truly recommend an early morning visit to the Fontana di Trevi. It is almost deserted, and beautiful. Probably one of my favorite spots we visited. Roman Holiday may or may not have anything to do with this.

Breakfast was my favorite breakfast combo ever: cappuccino, croissant and fresh squeezed OJ. It tastes especially great when had on an outside table by cobble stoned street.

After walking around some more we stumbled upon the Pantheon, probably one of the most breathtaking architecture I have ever seen. To think that it was built so many years ago is even more impressive.

Lunch was pizza and by the time dinner came around we were stuffed. So we settled for a light dinner of gelato. We found this perfect gelateria, that let you have three flavors of gelatto plus cream on top for the price of a small. The deal though, was to think up just the right flavor combo before you reached the counter. I often fell victim of ‘counter block’, meaning by the time I battled out the crowds and reached the impatient guys ready to serve out my gelatto, I just shouted out whatever gelato flavors came to mind, resulting in a fruity plus chocolate combination. Which is not deal, by the way. But it still tasted great.

We capped off the night with a date a top of the spanish steps, gorgeous sunset and the perfect company. Our date was of course, courtesy of auntie Rhonda, who needed to catch up on some sleep with O.

All in all, it was what I like to call a fabulous Roman Holiday.

20110623-113916.jpg

Fontana di Trevi

20110623-113940.jpg

Fun with aunt Rhonda

20110623-113954.jpg

See what I

20110623-114005.jpg

O couldn

20110623-114016.jpg

Empty streets, a toddler playground.

20110623-114045.jpg

20110626-104527.jpg

date night!

20110626-104549.jpg

now that's what I call a cuppa

20110626-104611.jpg

On getting in on the gelato action

20110626-104634.jpg

20110626-104708.jpg

Pantheon

new header courtesy of my friend Sheila who blogs @ www.momfessions.net, isn’t she talented? I love it!

§ 2 Responses to mom-mode post #144 – on traveling to Rome with a toddler, part three

  • ok, you totally made me want to go to rome! maybe when my kids are old enough to leave behind without worry! 😉

  • Oh, wonderfull day in Rome!! I experienced the same “counter block” with the gelatos, hahaha. What time did you wake up to go to Fontana di Trevi?? Man, it was my favourite spot too, i went at least three times… but all of them crowded! :S
    Sorry about my english mistakes, but i´ll try to practice it here, ok? You can correct me if you wish… 🙂
    Xoxo!

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading mom-mode post #144 – on traveling to Rome with a toddler, part three at .

meta

