mom-mode post #157 – on a multilingual update

September 14, 2011 § 1 Comment

showing off our 'mother' tongues

A few months ago I started to write about raising O in a multilingual environment (Portuguese, English and Turkish). Given he has made much progress, I thought an update was in order.

The three little words he once knew have involved into roughly twenty new words. Including the two-word phrase: “all done”. Much to my chagrin, he knows more English words than Portuguese words. I assume it is because over the past few months he has been around many more English speakers than Portuguese speakers. Plus the husband has had a few extra days off which has caused us to spend a lot more time speaking English.

His understanding of Portuguese though is flawless, I can go back and forth in Portuguese and English between my commands and he clearly understands them.

He has also started to call me ‘anne’, the turkish word for mom. This came as a surprised to me. I was hoping he would call me the Portuguese word ‘mamae’, I was even ok with ‘mama’ or ‘mommy’. But ‘anne’? I don’t know where that came from — maybe because we live in Turkey?– I love it though. Soon his Turkish will start getting better as a Turkish babysitter will start watching him while I’m in class. I’ll let you know how that goes!

Two words he says constantly, even after just waking up: ‘Elmo’ and ‘cookie’! Hahaha, the two biggest passions of my eighteen month old.

I am thinking about revising my plan of speaking Portuguese only when it’s just me and him. I think I need to reinforce it even when the husband is around. It may take some extra effort on my part. I have a hard time switching back and forth between English and Portuguese. But I think we will reap many benefits from this.

Wish me luck! I’ll be back in a few months with another multilingual update. :p

§ One Response to mom-mode post #157 – on a multilingual update

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading mom-mode post #157 – on a multilingual update at .

meta

