mom-mode post #165 – on making felt tree ornaments

November 28, 2011 § Leave a comment

Living in a country that doesn’t celebrate Christmas can have its drawbacks. You don’t get invitations to Christmas parties, you don’t get to drive at night to go see the lights, you don’t get to sing in a Christmas cantata. Perhaps the one (and let’s face it most important) positive side of celebrating Christmas over here is the fact that I don’t get lost in all the hoopla of Black Fridays, excessive shopping and extra calories. When you are probably the only family in your neighborhood celebrating the season, all the sleigh bells and mistletoes are stripped down and you get to focus on Immanuel, God with us.

In keeping with the simple yet meaningful way we celebrate, my friend Sheila sent me a link to a Jesse Tree devotional. A Jesse Tree is something like an advent calendar, each night of the month of December you read a story leading up to the birth of Christ. Each story has a symbol (ornament) that you put on a tree every night.

I spent the better part of the last few weeks working on my ornaments. I didn’t use a pattern, I just cut and sewed whichever way my little heart pleased. Hopefully as O gets a little older he will get to enjoy and cherish his mama’s handmade work. The husband is gone and so is his fancy camera, so pardon the iPad photos. I just wanted to include a few images of my handiwork. Once he gets back I’ll be sure to take some quality pictures for you guys. I found the tree at Ikea. It was either this little one or a scrawny little Charlie Brown thing.

 

 

 

 

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading mom-mode post #165 – on making felt tree ornaments at .

meta

