mom-mode post #170- on reflections of the past year

December 31, 2011 § 2 Comments

As cliché as this may sound, boy did this year fly by. Is it because I’m getting older? Is time really ticking faster or is just me? Whatever happened to those years when the time between Christmases seemed like an eternity? Regardless how fast this year went by, it is time again for a little reflection. Like last year, I’m using Simple Mom’s reflection questions, answering the ones that are pertinent to me. Hope you enjoy them, as much as I enjoy answering them.

Sunset photo taken by the husband

REFLECTION QUESTIONS FOR 2011

What was the single best thing that happened this past year?

Many great things happened this year. But I have to say it is a toss up between our trip to Brazil and our trip to Rome. My favorite memories this year happened during these trips.

What was the single most challenging thing that happened?

Oliver became a toddler! Both a  joy and challenge. I’m loving every minute of it.

What was an unexpected joy this past year?

Moving to Bursa had its difficult moments, it was an unexpected move, one I didn’t have much faith in. But I’m glad we did it. Plus, we found a wonderful babysitter for O, giving me a much needed break.

Of course family visits! Gram, gramps, auntie Rhonda, vovo and vovo all came to see us!!! Yay for family willing to travel long distances to encourage us.

What was an unexpected obstacle this past year?

Leaving my friends from Eski was certainly something I didn’t expect to do so soon. That was and still is hard to overcome.

Pick three words to describe 2011.

Move. Persevere. Strive.

What were the best books you read this year?

Oh my. The Hunger Games trilogy certainly tops this list. The Help and A Praying Life. If in 2012 I get to read just one book as good as these, I’ll be  a happy girl.

With whom were your most valuable relationships?

It always be the husband. This year we celebrated ten years of being together. These have been the best ten years of my life.

What was your biggest personal change from January to December of this past year?

After being gone from home for six years, I lost a lot of my roots in attempts to curb the many cultural differences I’ve had to face. Coming back to what is essential in life has been the biggest personal growth of 2012.

In what way(s) did you grow emotionally?

I am definitely ending this year on a better note emotionally. I am stronger now than I was twelve months ago.

In what way(s) did you grow spiritually?

The Lord is teaching me to pray just like a child comes to her father with all kinds of requests.

In what way(s) did you grow physically?

I started doing Pilates recently. My core muscles can certainly do more now than they did after carrying O for nine months.

What was the most enjoyable part of your work (both professionally and at home)?

Spending time with my O is the best part of all. Discovering the world of boys (trains, cars and much physical effort), coloring, making tents, becoming a kid again, hearing that sweet little laugh, hearing new words everyday. Ah, being a mom is the best job in the world.

What was the most challenging part of your work (both professionally and at home)?

The challenge of being a little boy’s mom is having the energy to keep up when most mornings he gets you out of bed before seven o’clock.

What was your single biggest time waster in your life this past year?

The Internets. Pinterest to be exact.

What was the best way you used your time this past year?

I made sure I saved time for my hobby. It was so good for my soul.

What was biggest thing you learned this past year?

In the wise words of the writer of Ecclesiastes: “For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven.” That’s what I’m learning.

Create a phrase or statement that describes 2011 for you.

Just hang on and keep moving.

 

Happy New Year sweet friends!   

 

Christmas Eve

 

copyright 2011 | SimpleMom.net | all rights reserved

§ 2 Responses to mom-mode post #170- on reflections of the past year

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading mom-mode post #170- on reflections of the past year at .

meta

