mom-mode post # 182 – on making a change

May 2, 2012 § 3 Comments

I’ve always envisioned myself as the kind of adult that eats healthy. You know, the kind that loves salads and doesn’t really crave sweets. You know, like my mom. She loves vegetables and eats them gladly.The sad reality is that I still eat like I did when I was five years old. I don’t have grown up taste buds and my diet is dangerously precarious.

I am not overweight (although I could stand to lose a few pounds) and I have been on my pre-pregnancy weight for some time now. Truth is I need to make a change not just for me, but for my son.

How can I expect him to eat vegetables when I’m having chocolate for dinner? The older he gets, the more he notices. Who wants the label, ‘hypocrite mother’? I want to feed my child none (or little) processed foods, I want his taste buds to be slightly more sophisticated than mine.Yet these lofty goals of mine will go nowhere if I don’t do ’em myself.

I routinely exercise (well not this week, I got Lasik surgery done), I go for annual check-ups and regular teeth cleanings. Overall I feel like I am setting a good example for O in those areas. Up until now the only thing that has remained unchanged in my life is my nutrition-less diet. I have tried to make healthier habits. From drinking more water to green smoothies. However my dietary situation is in such poor state, I need to make a drastic change.

So friends, I’m going all in. Monday I started the 17-diet plan. I chose this plan for it is drastic and will need full commitment from me on the first seventeen days. I could just do this on my own, with no plan. But I do better when I have some loose guidelines to follow, especially on something so difficult for me. I don’t intend to follow the plan forever, I just need something to start me off immediately and drastically, so later I can adjust it to my lifestyle. (to learn more about the diet, yo can watch this GMA video or go on the 17 day diet website)

For 17 days there will be no coke, no coffee, no chocolate, no butter, no red meat, no bread, i.e.: the six items that I could live off for the rest of my life and never miss any other food.

It’s going to be tough and I intend to keep myself accountable by blogging it on here. I will be writing about each day and post it on here at the end of the week.

May the odds be ever in my favor. đŸ˜‰

§ 3 Responses to mom-mode post # 182 – on making a change

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading mom-mode post # 182 – on making a change at .

meta

