mom-mode #198 – on a potty training perspective

July 3, 2012 § 6 Comments

I had some posts lined up about potty training and mommyhood, but due to being in the throws of potty training, not much else got done.
I will write more about the lojistics of it all soon. But let me just say it hasn’t been an easy ride.
After a few slightly more successful days, today we hit a bump on the road. After his nap things got smoother, but I still couldn’t shake off the feeling of failure and frustration.
Just as I was about to go into a corner and throw a pity party for myself, God granted me a little perspective.
I heard about a friend of a friend’s little boy, not much older than mine, being very sick in the hospital. So sick he wasn’t even going to the bathroom on his own. So as I did another load of tiny Thomas underwear laundry, I considered myself blessed. Yes, it is hard, but he is getting it. And most of all, he’s healthy. He is working so hard at it actually.
So tomorrow we wake up and start it all up again, only this time this mama will make sure to keep her mind in the right perspective.

So thankful for this little face:

20120703-223721.jpg

§ 6 Responses to mom-mode #198 – on a potty training perspective

  • Gram says:

    He will get it. I don’t care how many moms tell you ” My kids was potty trained in X amount of days”, I don’t know…I’ve always said the mom is trained to take the child to the potty, eventually the child becomes trained also!! Hang in there, wish I was there to help….well maybe not!! Don’t give up!!

  • Katie says:

    what a good perspective! and what a cute pictures! (Thanks for the comment on my blog today too)

  • With Hudson, I would try it for a few days and if it wasn’t clicking, I would put the undies away and wait a month or two! It really does seem to take boys longer! Right about his 3rd birthday it clicked and didn’t take much work on my end to push it at all! If you need to pack the undies away and try again later, that is not failure, mama!

    • Yeah Friend, I may have to bring the diapers back out. But I’m gonna keep at it for a little while longer. He seems to have the concept of number one well. It’s number two were struggling with… πŸ™‚

  • Tunde says:

    It’s a great perspective! It’s important to be thankful for all the good things, it’s helps to deal with our little setbacks! My baby girl is only about 6 months old and I can’t wait to be done with diapers!

    • Thanks Tunde, that’s what I keep telling myself these days. Trusts me, enjoy the diaper days and don’t go into potty training unless you’re absolutely ready! πŸ˜‰ Welcome to mommode!

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading mom-mode #198 – on a potty training perspective at .

meta

