mom-mode post #201 – on pinterest

July 16, 2012 § Leave a comment

20120709-114352.jpg

I had taken a month off Pinterest. I didn’t plan on it or anything. It just happened. I guess the novelty finally wore off and I finally had had enough inspiration, placing my needs to obssess on Instagram. But sometime last week I got on Pinterest again. Before I lost precious minutes of my life again, I decided to take inventory of what I had pinned since I joined Pinterest last year. Was it worth spending all that time pinning stuff you will never ever try? Hoarding ideas as if they wouldn’t be there when I needed them ‘someday’? Truth is there are times in my life when Pinterest can be really useful. Party planning time, Christmas gift making, etc. Other times, it really is just a waste of my precious time. Without further ado, here’s part of my Pinterest Inventory, along with my most honest opinion on how each project panned out:

Pin #1 – I couldn’t find a rack quite like this, I settled for something that didn’t really work for all of my lids. Also this idea doesn’t really address how to store the bottoms. My tupperware cupboard is still a mess. But I give this one a 2 out of 5 stars.

20120709-111909.jpg

Pin #2 – I have used this tip time and again. I am a chronically messy cook and this keeps my ipad intact. I just need to find me one of those neat recipe holders like the one in the photo. 5 out of 5

20120709-112520.jpg

Pin #3 -I tried to replicate this for my v-day mantel. It didn’t turn out quite like it, but it did what I believe Pinterest is all about: it inspired me. It inspired me to play with watercolors again, one of my favorite mediums. Even O got to play with it. I wish I could find a picture of my version somewhere. 5 out of 5.

20120709-112235.jpg

Pin #4– We don’t have an ice maker and it I believe it is almost impossible to find ice for sale here in Turkey. This balloon was not only festive but very practical for O’s party back in February. 5 out 5!

20120709-112833.jpg

Pin #5– I tried this and it was a major fail. Truth is, if you want gorgeous beachy waves you either have to go to the beach, or you have to put your curling/flat/ iron to good work. I don’t believe there’s any other way to do it. But I’ll keep pinning any shortcut ideas for easy simple hair styling! 0 out of 5 stars.

20120709-113141.jpg

Pin #6– I recreated this for O’s party and it turned out just like it (except we forgot to take a picture). 5 out of 5!

20120709-113342.jpg

Pin #7– This simple tutorial is just great. I had the best time making these bows. SO easy. 5 out of 5 again!

20120709-113433.jpg

Here’s my version on my friend’s sweet girl:
20120716-104146.jpg

This post is getting so long, I’ll have to make another one with some more projects/ inspiring ideas Pinterest spurred on me.

Truth is though, that these are only a fraction of the projects I have pinned. There’s so much more I have hoarded. 😉 Maybe these posts will inspire me to take on my inspirations and bring them to life. Because I believe one can never ever be too creative.

20120709-114525.jpg

 

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading mom-mode post #201 – on pinterest at .

meta

