An outfit and a welcome

November 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

Hi there friends, welcome to my spiffy new style blog! I have been documenting life as new mommy for almost three years now at mom-mode.com. I have always loved fashion and putting outfits together however, life post-baby got me in a terrible fashion rut.
I have been slowly but surely finding my style groove back. I have had to say goodbye to (most) of my sky high heels, for I need freedom to play at the playground and I travel many miles often.
I am on a journey to settle into a more grounded, simple style. I’m looking for comfortable, stylish clothes that fit my budget. I’m looking for an outlet for all of my creative energy. So here I plan on sharing my quest through finding cute stylish clothes, home decor, crafts and anything in between.
To kick things off, here’s a simple outfit I wore yesterday while sightseeing with my sweet friend and our families. I knew we would be getting on the road afterwards so my look needed to be something comfy. I knew we would be going to a playground to let our two sons get their wiggles out, so the outfit also needed to be practical.

leggings, Cato’s ?/ hoodie, Gap/ flats, Deichmann/ coat, Mango/ scarf, handmade

I chose to wear leggings. Yes, I believe that good, thick leggings can possibly be worn as pants. I know it’s controversial, but I stand by it. 😉 My wonderful sister-in-law got me these leggings at Cato’s I think.

I love the idea of pairing something sporty and almost sloppy like a Gap hoodie with a pair of prim and proper leopard print flats. On this podcast, Ari from Simple Design mentions wearing leopard print as a neutral for Fall. I couldn’t agree with her more, these flats are my go-to shoes. I take them on every trip I take. You will be seeing a lot of these on here!
I topped off the outfit for this rainy afternoon with my favorite and beloved Mango raincoat. It was a bit of a splurge when I got it, but I am firm believer in the cost-per-wear equation. I have worn this jacket to death and I will keep wearing it until it falls apart.
Finally, my pride and joy and newest knitting conquest, an infinity scarf made by me. It has many mistakes, it is only my second project. I love how it turned out though and just how warm it is. In fact, I’m working on a charcoal one as we speak.

A close-up of the hoodie and scarf

I am so excited to embark on this new stylish journey! I hope you will come along with me.
— Priscila
Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading An outfit and a welcome at .

meta

