Chambray Summer Style + J.Crew shorts + Silk scarf + Havaianas

January 22, 2013 § 24 Comments

 

Hey there everyone!

Don’t mind me, I’m just here, basking in the seaside and sunshine of my beautiful Brazil. Indulge me a little, would ya? ‘Cause we’ll be talking about Brazil A LOT this month.

20130121-144609.jpg { shirt, Lei (similar)/shorts/ sandals/ sunglasses, Mango (similar), silk scarf, Silk Bazaar}

 

This outfit is the epitome of my summer style. I got these shorts a gazillion years ago. I wear them every summer and they somehow manage to stay just like new. Proof that it is always a good idea to invest in good quality wardrobe staples. Then you can mix and match with trendier pieces like this chambray shirt (although it is quickly becoming a staple to me — might be time to invest in a good one!) and this gorgeous silk scarf I bought in Turkey.

Last year we lived in Bursa, Turkey. A place known for its ancient silk production. I bought this scarf at the silk bazaar (kozahan) where back in the day they used to actually make the silk there, silk worms included! I love adding an unexpected material like silk to an otherwise super simple outfit. The splash of color is a bonus. Another bonus? Tying the scarf around my head kept my ΓΌber frizzy hair looking a little decent. πŸ™‚

20130121-144629.jpg

(please disregard the two undone buttons, I don’t know what was going on!)

To top it all off, add in my favorite summer staple ( and every other Brazilian gal for that matter), the Havaianas flip-flops. I’ve worn these flip-flops since I was a little girl and I just won’t do summer without them. They are made of a thick rubber-like material, never age and easily dry off. Not to mention all the cute styles and colors they come in.

 

20130121-144659.jpg

“Home is where your story begins” — Annie Danielson

I know most of you are in the dead of Winter now. But daydream with me a little and share your favorite Summer wardrobe staple in the comments. Trust me, it will do your mind good to think about Summer. πŸ˜‰

If you’re new here, check out the about page. It will explain a little about why I’m in Brazil, writing in English, talking about Turkey.

Oh and if you want to make a girl happy, like my page on Facebook. I share some of my favorite finds around the interwebs on there. It’s worth the click, trust me!

pleated poppy

linking up with Shanna and Alison too!

§ 24 Responses to Chambray Summer Style + J.Crew shorts + Silk scarf + Havaianas

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chambray Summer Style + J.Crew shorts + Silk scarf + Havaianas at .

meta

