Ralph Lauren blazer + AE jeans + Sorel boots

March 18, 2013 § 13 Comments

4F3A0097

{blazer, thrifted Ralph Lauren (similar, similar)/ jeans, AE (similar)/ down vest, hand-me-down (similar)/ shirt, handmade/ boots, Sorel (similar)/ scarf, handmade/ glasses, bazar}

As you guys may know, I’m an island girl who never really had to suffer through a bitter winter. When I got married, we lived in North Carolina, where if it they are calling for 2 inches of snow, schools are closed. When we moved to Eskisehir Turkey in the Fall of ‘09, I did not see the bitter cold coming. But boy did it come.

And guess what? Schools don’t get closed over two inches of snow. Or four for that matter.  That’s when I realized my closet was severely lacking in the proper snowshoe department.

20130318-090447.jpg

I suffered through a couple of winters before I found the perfect boots. These Sorel boots offer the perfect amount of warmth and waterproof-ness for a cold-natured gal like me.  I have vowed never go through another winter without them.  I will always make room for them in my suitcase!

20130318-090648.jpg

We took these pictures on a chilly Virginian day, hence the boots.  We went to a charming little town nearby (where they filmed The Andy Griffith show). Their Main Street is full of neat little shops, including this old timey soda shop.

20130318-090715.jpg

20130318-134228.jpg

20130318-134238.jpg

 

As promised, here’s my fun new shirt I made with the sister-in-law. We pretty much followed this tutorial. You basically go by the instructions on the back of the iron-on letters packaging. We got ours at Michael’s. My SIL only needed one pack to get her “ Sunday Best” on there. I ended up needing three packs because I had too many E’s on “La vie en rose” (because of my favorite movie ever — Sabrina).  For the t-shirts, we just used a good ol’ Hanes tee.

20130320-064526.jpg

It is like my most new favorite shirt. I am thinking of making a new one soon, I just have to figure out what to write on it.

20130320-064514.jpg

Oh just a word of caution, make sure you mind the pesky hot iron.

And here’s the product of all that:

20130320-064535.jpg

 So tell me, if you were going to make a t-shirt like this, what would yours say?

To leave a comment, make sure to scroll all the way to the bottom of this post.

 

Let’s connect: Like My Simple Cute Style (I often share fun things I find on the web), follow me and my family shenanigans on Instagram or check out my fun Pinterest boards! Oh and I’m on Twitter too. 😉

 

Follow on Bloglovin

 

 

 

linking up with AlisonLindseyLauren and Shanna

 

§ 13 Responses to Ralph Lauren blazer + AE jeans + Sorel boots

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ralph Lauren blazer + AE jeans + Sorel boots at .

meta

