Foodie Friday – Four healthy breakfast ideas

May 23, 2013 § Leave a comment

 

photo-5 copy

You may remember that one of my goals for this year was to eat better and feed my family better. I have to admit that while we were Stateside I didn’t really make any effort at this. However ever since we landed in Turkey I have worked hard at making these changes.

In some aspects it’s easy. Fresh fruits and vegetables abound. Tomatoes are in season right and they are the best-tasting tomatoes ever. What I have trouble finding is more of the “trendy’ health food you see in America and Brazil. Things like coconut water, quinoa, etc. So I am setting my efforts in adding more fruits and vegetables into our lives. Starting with breakfast.

While these breakfasts may not be perfectly balanced, they are a huge improvement for someone who a little over a month ago was habitually committing the worst nutritional sin experts say you can commit: skipping breakfast. Hope you enjoy my ideas:

photo-4

1. Smoothies. I started adding smoothies into my life after I got a Magic Bullet and started doing the Tone it Up workouts. The Tone it Up ladies send frequent emails with workouts and the occasional healthy recipe. My favorite is any variation of the Bikini Smoothie. It’s very satisfying.

2. One scrambled egg on a whole-wheat toast. So simple. It takes me less than five minutes to make and keeps me full for many hours.

3. Oatmeal. I like to add honey, cinnamon, coconut flakes and sliced bananas on top.

4. Cinnamon banana and apples. I slice one apple and one banana, sprinkle cinnamon on top and microwave it for a few seconds. It’s like having cake for breakfast. Especially if you get sweet apples like the ones from my corner store.

So every morning now, along with my precious cup off coffee (and my cup of water), I take a few minutes to take care of myself with these breakfasts.

I haven’t gotten bored yet, but do you have any suggestions to add to that list? What is your favorite healthy breakfast?

 

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading Foodie Friday – Four healthy breakfast ideas at .

meta

