Define your home style in three words

June 3, 2013 § 6 Comments

If you could sum up your personal style in three words, what would they be? That’s the question my blog friend Alison asked the other day on her blog.

I had my answer ready: simple, cute (ha) and cool. At least that’s what I strive for in my daily dressing. I want to feel cute, I want it to be non-fussy and I want to look like a cool mama. Much like these ladies.

We’ve just moved, and with it the opportunity to redecorate ( or at least move things around). So I’ve thought a lot about my home style. I know what I don’t want. I can tell you right away that “cute” is not a look I want in my home. Or ‘whimsy’. You know those people who love of touch of whimsy in their home decor? Not me.

I was still struggling to find what I DO want my home to say. So in light of Alison’s three-word summary, I thought I’d come up with three words I want my home style to be:

 

chair

1. Simple. Because I’m a busy mama and I just don’t do complicated. I want most things in my home to have beauty and function. We live in small apartment, so there’s no room for clutter. Or things that just aren’t pretty or useful. I still have a ways to go, but I really would like my home to be as free of clutter as possible.

caytables

my nesting tables are a great example of form and function

bookcase

arranging books in a pretty way makes me happy

2. Cozy. I live in a concrete jungle. When people come into my home, I want it to be a cozy and inviting relief. To me, cozy is achieved by different textures. Rugs are a must in this culture so I filled our home with them. A crochet throw, a  soft couch and pillows, baskets. All those things add much-needed texture and layers to our home. I also would love to add a fur through but the husband just won’t let me.

rug

photo-4

3. Soulful. I want our home to reflect us. Our cultures, the places we’ve been, the people we love. I want the furniture in our home to have history. Unfortunately, I don’t live somewhere where there are flea markets and thrift stores. A lot of our home came from Ikea, but I am trying to bring soul into it by adding a fresh coat of paint, a special sentimental blanket and even some hand-me-down furniture. We live a transient lifestyle and so do our expat friends. So our home is full of furniture that once belonged to dear friends of ours. It is sweet to sit down on our couch and think of our dear friends who generously gave us this couch once they moved.

_DSC0343

A vivacious 3-year-old boy adds a lot of soul to a home.

 

Hope you enjoy these little glimpses of our new home.

What three words would you use to describe your home style?

linking up with Carly, Molly and Leigh Anne

§ 6 Responses to Define your home style in three words

  • alisonlumbatis says:

    Thanks for the shout out! I love your home, it’s so you! My home style is evolving. I would have to say my personal style is more a reflection of my personality right now. But I’m starting to redecorate some rooms and add fun touches of color and graphic patterns. I just wish I had the budget to re-do everything!

    • I hear you on the budget! If only I could just go out and redo it all! 🙂 I am pretty pleased with how things are coming along this time. I feel much more grounded in who I am and who our family is and our needs, so it’s been a little more fun. I do wish I could redo it all! 🙂

  • Lovely shots of your home! That ikat pillow is killer!

  • Lindsay says:

    Love that red, green and black rug! I would say that’s pretty soulful! And I really struggle with arranging books in a pretty way. I feel like as soon as I do they are all on the ground again!

    • Thanks Lindsay, that’s a new addition since the move and I love it too. As far as the books go, I try to use objects to hold the books in, or I lay some horizontal and some vertical, that usually keeps them in place just fine. 🙂

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading Define your home style in three words at .

meta

