The first trimester, baby #2

August 13, 2013 § Leave a comment

photo-4

For various reasons, we chose to keep this pregnancy a secret from social media. We told our close friends and family around week eight. I tell you, it was hard to keep a secret because I was sick and exhausted for most of those eight to ten weeks! Very different from my first one!

Because we chose to keep things out of social media, I ended up doing a very poor job of documenting my bump in pictures. But let me tell you, my bump popped out WAY earlier this time around.

So, to document this pregnancy a bit better, I’m going to use these prompts every week (month?). Since I am already fourteen weeks along, here’s a compiled list of this first trimester:

How far along: first trimester!

How big is baby: about the size of a key lime

Weight gain: I gained about 5 pounds this first trimester. Wouldn’t it be nice if I only gained another 10 lbs?

Sleeping: I knew I was pregnant before I ever took a test by the several times I had to wake up to either eat or go to the bathroom. Just like when I was preggo with O.

Food cravings:  I craved feta cheese and tomatoes for most of the first month of this pregnancy. Until I remembered you’re not really supposed to have soft cheeses. Oops. Then nausea hit big time and no food sounded good ever.

Food aversions: Everything. Especially the foods I got sick from when I was expecting O. Like doner and iskender (two very common Turkish dishes).

Symptoms:  Nausea. Nausea. Nausea. Did I mention, nausea? I never felt this sick with O. Oh and extreme exhaustion. Again, don’t remember feelings this tired with O.

Miss Anything?: I miss my general sunny disposition in the mornings. But thankfully, it’s coming back. 🙂

Doctor’s appointment: I went to see the doctor at 5 weeks, all we saw was a tiny bean. She was worried there was a lot of blood, so she told me to take it easy for a week.  At six weeks, we got to hear the sweetest heartbeat and saw a little bean, growing healthy strong. I went again at ten weeks for some blood work and everything looked good! At twelve weeks, the family went together to see if we could learn the gender! She is ALMOST certain it’s a girl… We will know next time!

Wedding Rings: Still on! I never had to take them off with O’s pregnancy.

Clothes: Most everything still fits, but I’ve chosen to wear loose clothing. For comfort, but also to hide that awful stage when it just looks like I’ve had one too many cupcakes.

Movement: Nothing yet!

What I’m looking forward to: This second trimester. I want my energy back.

What I did / Got for baby: I have started to go through O’s old baby stuff ( I may or may not have gotten terribly sentimental over his little hat we brought him home in…)

What I learned this trimester: Zofran is my best friend. Oh and keep drink water, for I’ll have to go to the bathroom regardless.

Prayer requests: Thankful for a healthy first trimester. Praying that I’ll be able to eat well and exercise and keep my body healthy to grow this baby!

 

p.s.: I have started to password-protect some posts here on the blog. If you would you like the password, contact me at cardososisters@gmail.com.

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading The first trimester, baby #2 at .

meta

