Target maxi skirt + tee + finding my pregnancy style

August 28, 2013 § 7 Comments

_DSC0353

Skirt, Target (similar)/ shirt, DIY / jacket, Gap – DIY bleached (similar)/ sandals, Gap (similar)

_DSC0355

 

 

I realized I never posted this outfit. This was earlier in the Summer when the bump was still small and the weather was still mild.

I wore a uniform for all of my school career. Every day of my school life, I had no opportunity to express myself. The decision of what I was going to wear had been made for me. Some mornings I was thankful for not having to think about  what to put on my body, but most days I longed for the opportunity to be creative with what I wore. When I started college, it was the first time I got to inject my personality and my state of mind into what I was wearing. Those years were fun and eye-opening.

My freshman year, my mom found this lady that made hand-woven scarves (almost a shawl, really) and asked her to make me a bright orange one. If I could choose only one piece to define my college years, that soft and shiny orangey scarf would be it. I wore it with my awesome denim jacket ( it was the 2000’s people!) to school, I wore it with a bright turquoise dress to a party. I wore with a white tank top in the Summer. I wore it with my brown cowboy boots in the Winter. That scarf was the epitome of my freedom to express myself the way I knew best, through clothing.

I’ve gone through a bit of a style crisis lately. With my last pregnancy, I was going through so much transition, I just didn’t have the chance to find styles that fit my bump and my personality. I ended up wearing a lot of clothes generously given to me by sweet friends, but they just simply weren’t my style. I had a hard time making it my own with my ever-growing body.

I am not quite sure how I am going to do it, I am on a budget and my belly keeps growing… But I hope to keep my sense of style and identity  this go round. I’m hoping to find my “orange scarf” all over again. In order to do so, I made up a list of what made that scarf so key in helping me define my sense of style (after years of wearing a uniform ).

If you are in a style rut too, I hope this list will help you as well.

elements

 

 

1. Unique: The piece must be one-of-a-kind. Something exquisite like my handmade scarf, makes the piece extra special. This doesn’t mean that it can’t be something you bought at H&M, as long as it looks like something special and truly unique.

2. Remarkable: Along the lines of uniqueness, a remarkable piece is one people will always remember you by. A rich color, a delicate texture, an interesting pattern will do the trick.

3. Versatile: My orange scarf was my go-to accessory for everything, night and day, fancy or everyday. You wouldn’t think an orange scarf to be versatile, but it worked for me. Versatile pieces aren’t made only of black, gray and denim.

4. Make you feel like yourself: This perhaps, if the most important part of all. It has to be that shoe/bag/skirt that when people look at it they think  “that’s Priscila’s”. My orange scarf doesn’t show who I am anymore ( I’m out of college and way past my twenties), so I must look for something that defines my current place in life and sense of style.

 

Wish me luck on finding that key piece!

Tell me, do you have one thing in your closet that defines your style? What is it?

 

linking up with Alison, Lauren and Lindsey

 

 

 

§ 7 Responses to Target maxi skirt + tee + finding my pregnancy style

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading Target maxi skirt + tee + finding my pregnancy style at .

meta

