New Year’s Eve Reflections

January 1, 2014 § Leave a comment

Here we are on the first day of 2014. This will be another big year for us! As usual, I took the time to answer some questions and reflect on the year that we said goodbye to. I got these questions from The Art of Simple. I don’t answer all twenty questions, so I just delete them but I don’t change the numbers on them.

1. What was the single best thing that happened this past year?

I have to say that getting pregnant with this little girl has been a sweet, sweet blessing.

_F3A2011-2

2. What was the single most challenging thing that happened?

Well, we are going on year 5 of transition. We have moved five times in four years and this year has been no different. Finding the energy to start over, invest in new relationships, build a support community from scratch, husband started a new job, O started school… It was all kind of a lot. 

3. What was an unexpected joy this past year?

My return to the classroom has been a true joy. Finding this little Montessori school, where my son feels welcomed and nurtured and where we can both feel at home at. 

4. What was an unexpected obstacle?

O was born and has spent the majority of  his life here in Turkey, so we thought he would have a smooth return home. Well, things were more challenging than we thought. But I’m so proud to say that our little TCK has overcome much and is once again thriving in his third culture.

5. Pick three words to describe this past year.

transitional, busy and purposeful

8. What were the best books you read this year?

I just read lots of fun fiction this year! Some that stand out: What Alice Forgot, Where’d you go Bernadette and The Dressmaker.  Two very challenging non-fiction books were: Desperate and The Spiritual  Disciplines of a Godly Woman.

9. With whom were your most valuable relationships?

The husband, my son and this precious new life in me!
10. What was your biggest personal change from January to December of this past year?

Oh I don’t know, a certain human being growing inside of me kinda through me for a loop!
11. In what way(s) did you grow emotionally?

The second half of the year was very much about working on not being anxious about tomorrow. On focusing on what is in front of me today. I have also had to dig deep to find the strength to invest in starting new relationships. This is still a work in progress.

12. In what way(s) did you grow spiritually?

I am doing better at taking my anxious thoughts to the Lord and not looking elsewhere for answers. Still so much room for growth.
13. In what way(s) did you grow physically?

Besides growing a human being… I’ve been able to stay physically active throughout this whole pregnancy, which is not something I was able to do when I was pregnant with O. This last month I have started to slow down some, some days I can only manage a little yoga. But I am still much more active than in my first pregnancy.
14. In what way(s) did you grow in your relationships with others?

This year was all about growing my relationship with my son. He is a walking, talking human being now. No longer a toddler, full of his own opinions and capable of articulating them. We grew so much this year. And I look forward to getting to know this little person more and more everyday. He truly is a delight.  I’m so glad we had this year before he will have to share my attention with his baby sister.

_F3A1955

15. What was the most enjoyable part of your work (both professionally and at home)?

At work, getting to see O grow and interact with the other kids. I’m so glad I get to be there . At home, I have been able to stay much more organized and on top of meal planning/cleaning. The house doesn’t always look spotless, but I feel like I have a better grip on this housekeeping deal.

16. What was the most challenging part of your work (both professionally and at home)?

On both fronts, finding the energy when some days I was too nauseated or too tired or too pregnant…
17. What was your single biggest time waster in your life this past year?

As usual, I wasted a lot of time on the internets and social media. I have to get a grip on this.
18. What was the best way you used your time this past year?

Personally, I enjoyed waking up early when I could to pray and exercise. It didn’t happen as consistently as I wanted to. I also found a good groove on the old: see it, clean it. I tried my very best to clean as I go, pick up as I go and not let things accumulate around the house. But the very best way I used my time this year, was doing home school with my boy. Reading books with him and doing art together are one of my favorite ways to spend my time.
19. What was biggest thing you learned this past year?

Last year was all about taking control of my life and making changes  to my diet, my exercise routine, making life happen. This year was almost the opposite. It was about embracing what life (God) had for me and not fighting for control. Taking life by stride, deep breaths, holding on, one step at a time.
20. Create a phrase or statement that describes this past year for you.

This quote reflects a lot of the changes that are still happening in my heart:

unnamed

Here’s to embracing my life in 2014!

_F3A1978

Happy New Year!

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Year’s Eve Reflections at .

meta

