Meeting baby sister

April 30, 2014 § Leave a comment

 

It was a much-anticipated day. He talked about his baby sister often and was so very eager to meet her.

1654216_10153742450250203_965824050_n

 

The week before we went out shopping for a special gift he could bring to his baby sister. He picked out a set of nesting cups. It could not have been a better gift. I know Nina girl will be getting her hands in those in no time.

Mom and dad kept O that morning. And around 2 o’clock, when I was feeling more like myself, daddy went to pick them up. Mom made sure he wore his nice hat and scarf because she wanted him to look cute for pictures. It was a cold and dreary Tuesday, the day Nina was born.

1620906_10153742450800203_1211737423_n

I was so happy to see that sweet face of his.  And even happier to see how well he reacted to meeting his baby sister.

He was shy at first, like he is with anybody. He didn’t really want to hold her. He was happy to just look at her.

One of his first questions was about me and my stitches. This sweet boy of mine, he is always looking out for me. And now, he is always looking out for his little sister.

Nina “had gotten” a little gift for big brother too. So he quickly got busy with his new games and seemingly forgot about sister for a while. We didn’t push him or anything. When he was ready, he looked away from iPad for a while and asked to hold her. It was a sweet moment indeed. And I think right then he fell in love with her.

He has exceeded my expectations of how well he’s adjusted to life as a big brother. Sure he had his moments. His growing pains, if you will. But so did I. Change, even when it happens because of a blessing like Nina, can be a little bumpy sometimes. In fact, I think he adjusted quicker than I did. 😉

I’m so glad my O now has somebody to share life with now. My sisters are my best friends and I am thrilled  that now O has a sister too.

Tell me watcha thinkin'

What’s this?

You are currently reading Meeting baby sister at .

meta

